Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Vladimir M. Shalaev
Purdue University


"For pioneering contributions to the discipline of composite optical materials and metamaterials, including seminal work on the understanding of nanoscale optical composites, and for developing metamaterials and metasurfaces for crucial photonics applications."


Vladimir M. Shalaev, Scientific Director for Nanophotonics at Birck Nanotechnology Center and Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University, specializes in nanophotonics, plasmonics, optical metamaterials and quantum photonics. He received his Master and PhD degrees from the Siberian Federal University (Russia) in 1979 and 1983, respectively. Prof. Shalaev has received several awards for his research in the field of nanophotonics and metamaterials, including the Max Born Award of the Optical Society of America for his pioneering contributions to the field of optical metamaterials, the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award, Rolf Landauer medal of the ETOPIM (Electrical, Transport and Optical Properties of Inhomogeneous Media) International Association, the UNESCO Medal for the development of nanosciences and nanotechnologies, and the OSA and SPIE Goodman Book Writing Award. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, APS, SPIE, MRS and OSA.


Selection Committee:

2020 Selection Committee Members: Steven Louie (Chair), Nuh Gedik (Vice-Chair), Andrea Cavalleri ('18 Recipient), Jeremy Baumberg, Hui Deng, Frances Hellman (Alternate)