Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Chao-Yang Lu
University of Science and Technology of China


"For significant contributions to optical quantum information sciences, especially on solid-state quantum light sources, quantum teleportation and optical quantum computing."


Chao-Yang Lu was born in 1982 in Zhejiang, China. He obtained a Bachelor's degree from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 2004, and PhD in Physics from the Cavendish Laboratory, the University of Cambridge in 2011. He is currently a Professor of Physics at USTC. His current research interest includes quantum computation, solid-state quantum photonics, multiparticle entanglement, quantum teleportation, and atomic arrays. His work on quantum teleportation was selected as by Physics World as “Breakthrough of the Year 2015”. His work on single-photon sources and optical quantum computing was selected by the Optical Society of American (OSA) as one of “Optics in 2016”, “Optics in 2017”, and “Optics in 2019”. He has been awarded as Fellow of Churchill College (2011), Hong Kong Qiu Shi Outstanding Young Scholars (2014), National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars (2015), Nature’s top ten “science star of China” (2016), OSA Fellow (2017), Fresnel Prize from the European Physical Society (2017), AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize (2018), Huangkun Prize from Chinese Physical Society (2019), Nishina Asian Award (2019), Xplorer Prize (2019), IUPAP-ICO Young Scientist Prize in Optics (2019), and OSA Adolph Lomb Medal (2020). He is the Chair of Quantum 2020 and has served as an editorial board member in international journals such as Quantum Science and Technology, PhotoniX, Advanced Quantum Technology, Science Bulletin, and iScience.

Selection Committee:

Jay Gambetta (Chair), Alexandre Blais, Fernando Brandao, Aram Harrow, Barbara Terhal