Norman F. Ramsey Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, and in Precision Tests of Fundamental Laws and Symmetries

To recognize recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the two fields of Norman Ramsey: atomic, molecular, and optical physics; and precision tests of fundamental laws and symmetries. The Prize consists of a $10,000 check, a certificate citing accomplishments, and travel support for the recipient to attend the DAMOP annual meeting at which the prize is presented.

Establishment & Support

In Honor of Norman Ramsey

Norman Foster Ramsey, a Nobel Laureate in Physics (1989), was an outstanding figure in the world of physics. His scientific accomplishments include the invention of the ubiquitous separated oscillatory field method and the hydrogen maser. Ramsey was also an outstanding teacher, scientific statesman, and advocate for science and technology. He carried out his research with great passion, but also in a spirit of collegiality and fairness.

The Ramsey prize was established in 2017 with contributions from the family and friends of Norman Ramsey, individual donations from members of the American Physical Society, corporate sponsorship by TOPTICA and Thorlabs, and additional support from Menlo Systems. The Prize is jointly administered by the APS Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants (GPMFC) and by the APS DAMOP, with each selecting 3 members of a selection committee, and alternating its chair selection year by year. The prize winner serves on the following year’s committee.

Rules & Eligibility

The prize is awarded annually for outstanding work in precision measurements of fundamental constants and tests of fundamental laws and symmetries or in atomic, molecular and optical physics. The prize shall ordinarily go to one individual, but may be shared with one or two others if this is clearly appropriate. Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done.  Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline. In keeping with the APS goal of serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists, nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2024

Nomination Components

  • the nominee’s name, institution, contact information,
  • a suggested citation (300 characters or less including spaces),
  • a nomination letter (5,000 characters or less including spaces) evaluating the nominee's qualifications,
  • at least two, but no more than four, letters of support,
  • a demographics form,
  • the nominee’s biosketch,
  • a list of the nominee’s most important publications,
  • up to five reprints or preprints.

Submitting a nomination

Please read the Prize and Award Nomination Guidelines Including FluidReview Instructions to submit a nomination.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Irina Novikova (Chair), Olga Kocharovskaya ('23 Recipient), Scott Diddams, Robert Jones, Jonathan Weinstein, Nan Yu

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipients

David DeMille
University of Chicago

Gerald Gabrielse
Northwestern University

John M. Doyle
Harvard University

Past Recipients

2023: Olga Kocharovskaya
2022: Mikhail Lukin
2021: Dmitry Budker
2020: Philip H. Bucksbaum
2019: Jun Ye
2018: Peter Zoller