J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in particle theory. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is to be awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was endowed in 1984 as a memorial to and in recognition of the accomplishments of J. J. Sakurai by the family and friends of J. J. Sakurai.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The prize may be awarded to more than one person on a shared basis. The prize will normally be awarded for theoretical contributions made at an early stage of the recipients research career. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2024

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2024 Selection Committee: Maria Concepcion Gonzalez-Garcia (Chair), Heinrich Leutwyler, Steven Gottlieb, Lisa Everett, and Anastasia Volovich

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipient

Andrzej J. Buras
Technical University Munich

Past Recipients

2023: Heinrich Leutwyler
2022: Nima Arkani-Hamed
2021: Vernon Barger
2020: Pierre Sikivie
2019: Lisa Randall
          Raman Sundrum
2018: Ann Nelson
          Michael Dine
2017: Gordon L. Kane
          Howard E. Haber
          John F. Gunion
          Sally Dawson
2016: G. Peter Lepage
2015: George Zweig
2014: David A. Kosower
          Lance J. Dixon
          Zvi Bern
2013: Helen Quinn
          Roberto Peccei
2012: Bryan Webber
          Guido Altarelli
          Torbjorn Sjostrand
2011: Chris Quigg
          Estia Eichten
          Ian Hinchliffe
          Kenneth Lane
2010: Carl R. Hagen
          Francois Englert
          Gerald S. Guralnik
          Peter W. Higgs
          Robert Brout
          T.W.B. Kibble
2009: Davison E. Soper
          John C. Collins
          R. Keith Ellis
2008: Alexei Smirnov
          Stanislav Mikheyev
2007: Stanley Brodsky
2006: Savas Dimopoulos
2005: Susumu Okubo
2004: Anthony Sanda
          Ikaros I Bigi
2003: Alfred Mueller
          George Sterman
2002: Alberto Sirlin
          William J. Marciano
2001: Mark Wise
          Mikhail Voloshin
          Nathan Isgur
2000: Curtis G. Callan
1999: Arkady Vainshtein
          Mikhail Shifman
          Valentin Invanovich Zakharov
1998: Leonard Susskind
1997: Thomas Appelquist
1996: William Allan Bardeen
1995: Howard Georgi
1994: Yoichiro Nambu
1993: Mary K. Gaillard
1992: Lincoln Wolfenstein
1991: Vladimir N. Gribov
1990: Toichiro Kinoshita
1989: Nicola Cabibbo
1988: Stephen L. Adler
1987: John Iliopoulos
          Luciano Maiani
1986: David Gross
          Frank Wilczek
          H. David Politzer
1985: Makoto Kobayashi
          Toshihide Maskawa