George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award

To recognize contributions to understanding condensed matter and non-linear physics through shock compression. This award is to be presented biennially in odd-numbered years and consists of a cash award of $5,000, a plaque citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an allowance for travel to the meeting at which it is to be presented.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1987 by the friends of the Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter Physics. The award was renamed the George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award in 2007.

Rules & Eligibility

All members of the scientific community are eligible for nomination. A single award will normally be given to no more than one individual and will be presented at the biennial Topical Group Conference. Nominations are active for three years (two nomination cycles).

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, June 1, 2022

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter on not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee MembersIvan Oleynik (chair), Tom Duffy, Marcia Cooper, Nir Goldman, George (Rusty) Gray,

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipient

Craig M. Tarver
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Past Recipients

2019: George T. (Rusty) Gray
2017: Marc André Meyers
2015: Jerry W. Forbes
2013: Gennady I. Kanel
2011: James Johnson
2009: Donald Curran
2007: Dennis E. Grady
2005: Vladimir E. Fortov
2003: James Asay
2001: Yogendra Gupta
1999: Lynn M. Barker
1997: Arthur C. Mitchell
          William J. Nellis
1995: Thomas J. Ahrens
1993: Robert A. Graham
1991: Levi Vladimirovich Al'tshuler
1989: George E. Duvall
1987: John M. Walsh
          Melvin Rice
          Robert McQueen