Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

To recognize an individual researcher who has made outstanding contributions (theoretical, experimental, computational, or technical) in plasma physics early in their career. Areas of plasma physics covered by the Award include, but are not limited to, fundamental plasma physics, fusion plasmas, astrophysical or space plasmas, low-temperature plasmas, or high-energy-density plasmas.  

Thanks to the gracious support of Thomas Stix's friends and family, we are pleased to announce an award stipend increase to $5,000. Recipients will also receive an allowance towards registration and travel expenses to attend the Division of Plasma Physics Annual Meeting, along with a certificate acknowledging their contributions. Additionally, the DPP is pleased to offer up to two complimentary banquet tickets for both the recipient and a guest.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 2013 by a contribution from the Division of Plasma Physics.

Thanks to the gracious support of Thomas Stix's friends and family, we are pleased to announce an award stipend increase to $5,000.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The Award will be given every year to an early career researcher. An early career researcher is defined as an individual in the first 10 years of a research career, i.e. at most 10 years following the award of a PhD. No person may receive the Award more than once. The Award is not to be given for work previously recognized by a DPP prize (e.g. the Rosenbluth award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis or the Dawson Award). Self-nominations will not be considered. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, April 1, 2024

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2023 Selection Committee Members: Yu Lin (Chair), Ryan McBride, Frederico Fiuza, Zhihong Lin

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2023 Recipient

David Turnbull
University of Rochester Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Past Recipients

2022: Jonathan Squire
2021: Carlos Paz-Soldan
2020: Scott Baalrud
2019: William Fox
2018: Frederico Fiuza
2017: Ian Chapman
2016: Tammy Ma
2015: Nuno F. G. Loureiro
2014: Ilya Dodin