APS News

May 1995 (Volume 4, Number 5)

Physicists to be Honored at May Meetings

In May, the APS will honor three physicists for their contributions to the fields of atomic, molecular and optical physics and particle physics, respectively. The 1995 I.I. Rabi Prize will be presented during the annual spring meeting of the APS Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, 17-19 May, in Toronto, Canada. The Robert R. Wilson Prize will be awarded at the annual meeting of the Division of Physics of Beams, held concurrently with the 1995 Particle Accelerator Conference, 1-5 May, in Dallas, Texas. The Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Beam Physics will also be awarded at the Particle Accelerator Conference.

1995 I.I. RABI PRIZE in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics

Established in 1989, the Rabi Prize is intended to recognize and encourage outstanding research in atomic, molecular and optical physics.

Randall G. Hulet
Rice University

Citation: "For his contributions to a broad range of important problems in atomic and optical physics, including cavity quantum electrodynamics, quantum jumps, ion storage, and laser cooling of atoms. In the latter field, in particular for his demonstration of multiphoton cooling involving Doppler on resonances in neutral lithium and his collision experiments with cooled lithium vapor."

Hulet received his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1984, where he remained for another year as a postdoctoral research associate. He then spent two years at the National Bureau of Standards as a postdoctoral fellow before joining the faculty of Rice University, where he is presently an associate professor of physics.


Established in 1986, the Wilson Prize is intended to recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in the physics of particle accelerators.

Raphael M. Littauer
Cornell University

Citation: "For his many contributions to accelerator technology, in particular his innovative conception and implementation of a mechanism to provide multifold increases in the luminosity of single-ring colliding beam facilities by the establishment of separated orbits of opposing, many-bunch, particle beams. This work has enabled the Cornell Electron Storage Ring (CESR) to achieve record luminosities for electron-positron storage rings; the concept has been adopted, equally successfully, at the other major high energy facilities of the world."

Born in Leipzig, Germany, Littauer received his Ph.D. in Physics from Christ's College at Cambridge University in 1950. Since then, his primary association has been with Cornell University, although he has consulted with numerous other universities and research corporations. In the course of his work in high energy physics and the technology of particle accelerators, Littauer has played a major role in the construction of each of the series of five electron accelerators built at Cornell, culminating in the highly successful CESR electron-positron storage ring.

1995 award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis research in Beam Physics

Dun Xiong Wang
University of Maryland

Established in 1990 by the Division of Physics of Beams, the award is supported by Universities Research Association.

Citation: "For his experimental and theoretical investigations in longitudinal beam dynamics: in particular, (1) beam distribution studies, where, using experimental data on beam profile evolution, he has shown how the longitudinal beam profile is maintained by a self-consistent parabolic distribution, while the rectangular distribution erodes at the head and tail; (2) studies on the propagation of localized slow and fast waves in space charge dominated beams, where, using a novel experiment, he has measured the geometry factor; and (3) studies on bunch reconstruction techniques, where he has made important advances showing how to manipulate the beam profile; his work represents a significant achievement in beam physics research."

Dun Xong Wang was born in Shanghai, China. He attended the Shanghai University of Science and Technology and received his B.S. degree in Physics in 1982. In 1987, he came to the U.S. to pursue graduate studies at the University of Maryland at College Park, receiving his Ph.D. in physics in 1993. The title of his dissertation was "Experimental Studies of Longitudinal Dynamics of Space-Charge Dominated Electron Beams." Since September 1993, he has been a staff scientist at CEBAF in Newport News, Virginia, working in the Accelerator Performance Group and also on the coherent synchrotron radiation detection project.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin

May 1995 (Volume 4, Number 5)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
No Slowdown Foreseen in Rapid Growth of APS Journals
Physicists to be Honored at May Meetings
Career Corner
Inside the Beltway: Galvin Commission Proposes "Bold" Alternative for DOE Labs
William Fowler Dies
In Brief
APS Views
OTA Needs Support from Scientists to Avert National "Tragedy"
The Back Page