APS News

November 1996 (Volume 5, Number 10)

Szilard, Schawlow Inducted into Inventor's Hall of Fame

Two renowned physicists and long-standing APS members were inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame in Akron, Ohio in September. The late Leo Szilard was honored for the invention of the nuclear reactor. His co-inventor, Enrico Fermi, had already been inducted. Nobel laureate Arthur L. Schawlow was honored for his invention of the laser, together with Charles Townes, who is also already a Hall of Fame member.

The APS has established awards in honor of each of these physicists. The Leo Szilard Award for Physics in the Public Interest was established in 1974 by the APS Forum on Physics and Society, to recognize outstanding accomplishments by physicists in promoting the use of physics for the benefit of society in such areas as the environment, arms control and science policy. The Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science was established in 1991 by the NEC Corporation. It is intended to recognize outstanding contributions to basic research that uses lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental physical properties of materials and their interaction with light.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin

November 1996 (Volume 5, Number 10)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
New Results Supporting Standard Model Highlight 1996 DPF Meeting
Inside the Beltway
McIlrath to Become New APS Treasurer
Physicists To Be Honored at November Meetings
Aylesworth Observes Politics in Action on the Hill
1997 March Meeting: Large & Small, Old & New
AIP Offers New Web Site for History of Physics and Astronomy
Szilard, Schawlow Inducted into Inventor's Hall of Fame
Schrieffer and Garmire Named to Committee on National Medal of Science
In Brief
APS Views
Science for All Students
The Back Page