APS News

November 1999 (Volume 8, Number 10)

Physicists To Be Honored at November Unit Meetings

Five physicists will be honored for their work in plasma physics and fluid dynamics in November. The 1999 James Clerk Maxwell Prize, Excellence in Plasma Physics Award, and Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Plasma Physics Award will be presented during the annual fall meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics in Seattle, WA. The 1999 Fluid Dynamics Prize and Otto Laporte Award will be presented during the annual fall meeting of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics in New Orleans, LA.

Established in 1975 and supported by Maxwell Technologies, Inc., the Maxwell Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of plasma physics.
John Bryan Taylor
Culham Laboratory

Citation: "For ground breaking research, distinguished by its ingenuity and clarity, in such topics as: relaxation theory, transport, finite Larmor radius effects, the minimum-B concept, adiabatic invariance, the standard map, bootstrap currents, the ballooning representation, and confinement scaling laws."
Taylor received his PhD (1955) from Birmingham University. He joined the Atomic Weapons Research Establishment Aldermaston and in 1962 moved to Culham Laboratory, where he became chief physicist. In 1989 he was appointed Fondren Professor of Plasma Theory at the University of Texas at Austin. Perhaps his most celebrated contribution is the introduction of plasma relaxation theory, which combines plasma turbulence and magnetic helicity to predict, from first principles, many features of plasma behavior. He is a recipient of the 1986 APS Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics.

Established in 1981 by donations from friends of the Division of Plasma Physics, this award recognizes a particular recent outstanding achievement in plasma physics research.
Raymond A. Fonck
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Citation: "For his implementation, development, and exploitation of Beam Emission Spectroscopy for measuring fluctuations and their relations to anomalous transport in hot, fusion-relevant plasmas."
Fonck earned his PhD in 1978 from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, where he is currently a professor of engineering physics. He is an experimental physicist with research interests in plasma and fusion science, atomic processes in high-temperature plasmas, and diagnostic instrumentation. He has developed a variety of diagnostic techniques for measuring the particle and energy content and the stability of very-high-temperature plasmas.

Established in 1985 and endowed by General Atomics, this award recognizes young scientists whose doctoral thesis work is of outstanding quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics.
Thomas R. Clarke
University of Maryland

Citation: "For his comprehensive elucidation of the hydrodynamics and the optical mode structure of the plasma waveguide."
Thomas R. Clark, Jr. received his PhD in physics from the University of Maryland at College Park in 1998. In 1998 he joined the Optical Sciences Division of the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC as a research physicist. His current research interests are in the development of low noise ultrafast fiber laser systems, photonic analog-digital conversion, high-speed photonic devices, and noise characterization of photonic systems. Dr. Clark is a member of Sigma Pi Sigma, the Optical Society of America and the American Physical Society.

Established in 1979 and supported by the AIP journal Physics of Fluids, the prize recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in fluid dynamics research.
Daniel D. Joseph
University of Minnesota

Citation: "In recognition of the broad range of his contributions to the stability and bifurcation of fluid flows, rheological fluid mechanics, and fluid mechanics of problems involving solid-liquid boundaries."
Joseph earned his PhD in mechanical engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1963 and promptly joined the faculty of the University of Minnesota, where he is currently the Russell J. Penrose Professor of aerospace engineering and mechanics. His current research interests include the aerodynamic breakup of Newtonian and non-Newtonian fluids in high-speed flows, foam control using a fluidized bed, and cavitation and the state of stress in a flowing liquid.

The LaPorte Award was established in 1985 to recognize important advances in fluid dynamics.
Eli Reshotko
Case Western Reserve University

Citation: "For lasting contributions and leadership to the understanding of transition to turbulence in high-speed flows and non-homogenous flows."
Following completion of his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering at Cooper Union in New York City, Reshotko worked at NASA's Lewis Flight Propulsion Laboratory and spent a summer at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena before earning his PhD in aeronautics and physics from CalTech in 1960. He then rejoined the staff of the Lewis Research Center until 1964, when he joined the faculty of Case Western Reserve UniversityHe is presently vice chair of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette

November 1999 (Volume 8, Number 10)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
New Education Officer Joins APS
Ripin to Leave the APS
Largest Industrial Employers of PhD Physicists
APS Journals Divide and Multiply
Festival Profile
APS Creates Physicist Networking Database
High School Physics Enrollments Hit Post-War High
Mr. Smith Goes to College
Schawlow Honored in Special Memorial Session at ILS-XV
Tiny 'Bow-Tie' Microlasers Make it Big
In Brief
Physics Works!
Physicists To Be Honored at November Unit Meetings
APS Statement on Creationism
The Back Page
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science