APS News

December 2000 (Volume 9, Number 11)

Physicists Honored at Annual DPP, DFD Meetings

(Left to right): John Bollinger (NIST-Boulder); Marshall Rosenbluth (UCSD); Akira Hasegawa (Himeji Dokkyo University and Soliton Communications, Japan); Mark Herrmann (LLNL).
Six physicists were honored for their work in plasma physics and fluid dynamics in November. The 2000 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics, Excellence in Plasma Physics Research Award, the Nicholson Medal for Humanitarian Service and Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Plasma Physics Award were presented during the annual fall meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics in Quebec, Canada (see story here). The 2000 Otto LaPorte Award and Fluid Dynamics Prize and were presented during the annual fall meeting of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics, held November 19-21 in Washington, DC (highlights to appear in January 2001 APS News).

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette

December 2000 (Volume 9, Number 11)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
APS Launches New Web Site for the Public
Three Budding Young Physicists are New Apker Recipients
2000 Nobel Prizes Announced in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine
New Scientific Coalition Targets Climate Change on the Hill
Better Tabletop Accelerators, Fusion in a Beer Can Featured at DPP
First RHIC Results Highlight 2000 DNP Meeting
Assessment Tests Can Marginalize Science Education
Palestinian Visits: Irresponsible or Just Ill-Timed?
Physicists Honored at Annual DPP, DFD Meetings
New Fellowship in Washington Office
2000 Year-End Gift Ideas: Help Physics Programs
Editorial Cartoon
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science
This Month in Physics History
Meeting Briefs
Members in the Media
The Back Page