APS News

August/September 2002 (Volume 11, Number 8)

APS Fellows Win Four National Medals of Science, 1 Technology

President Bush awarded four National Medals of Science and one National Medal of Technology to fellows of the APS in a White House ceremony on June 12. The medals are the country's highest award for lifetime achievement in science and technology.

Andreas Acrivos of the City College of the City University of New York and professor emeritus of chemical engineering at Stanford University was awarded a National Medal of Science for his contributions to the modern theory of fluid mechanics and convective heat and mass transfer.

Marvin L. Cohen of the University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, won the medal for his work in solid state physics.

Ernest R. Davidson of Indiana University was honored for work that led to the field of computational quantum chemistry.

Raymond Davis of the University of Pennsylvania and Brookhaven won the award for first measuring the solar neutrino flux and creating the field of neutrino astronomy.

Jerry M. Woodall won a National Medal of Technology for his research on and development of compound semiconductor hetero-junction materials and devices.

A total of fifteen medals of science and five medals of technology were awarded this year. Other winners included Harold Varmus, a 1989 Noble Laureate who studied the genetic origins of cancer, and Arun Netravali of Lucent Technologies.

The National Science Foundation administers the National Medal of Science, which was established by Congress for the White House in 1959. The National Medal of Technology was established in 1980.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette

August/September 2002 (Volume 11, Number 8)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
APS Selects 26 as 2002-2003 Minority Scholarship Recipients
Department Chairs Confer, Drop In On Congress
Tannenbaum is New APS Congressional Fellow
Societies Honor Physics Olympiad Team
APS Fellows Win Four National Medals of Science, 1 Technology
Demand for Boycott of Israeli Science Stirs Controversy
Hamre Commission Takes Hard Look at Security Mismanagement at Weapons Labs
Scientists Toy with Origami As A Solution
APS Lobbyists Work the Hill While Brinkman and Colwell Correspond
Proposed New Department Complicates Outlook for Visas
Speaking Out In Support of Science Education Funding
APS Executive Board Passes Resolution on Perpetual Motion Machines
Viewpoint: Odds Are Stacked When Science Tries To Debate Pseudoscience
Viewpoint: Letters Reveal New Insights Into the Bohr-Heisenberg Meeting
The Back Page
Members in the Media
This Month in Physics History
Physics and Technology Forefronts
Inside the Beltway: A Washington Analysis