Daniel Kleppner
Kleppner is the director of the Center for Ultracold Atoms at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he is also the Lester Wolfe Professor of Physics. His research is in experimental atomic physics and he is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, as well as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the APS and the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences. He is the co-author of two textbooks and has received the Davisson-Germer Prize and the Lilienfeld Prize of the APS.

Frederick K. Lamb

Lamb is the director of the Center for Theoretical Astrophysics at the University of Illinois, where he also holds the Brand and Monica Fortner Endowed Chair in Theoretical Astrophysics. He has served as a consultant to the Departments of Energy and Defense, NASA and the US Congress on defense, security and space policy issues. His research has focused on problems in high-energy and relativistic astrophysics, and he chaired the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

David K. Barton
Barton has served as a member of the National Research Council's Air Force Studies Board and has chaired the committees on the E-3A Radar and the Advanced Airborne Surveillance Radar. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and an IEEE Fellow, and currently serves a consultant to the radar industry.

Roger W. Falcone
Falcone is on the faculty of the University of California, Berkeley, where he chaired the Physics Department from 1995-2000. He has served on various Technical Review Committees at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Ming K. Lau
Lau is the manager of the Control Subsytems Department at Sandia National Laboratory, where he oversees projects on precision motion measurements, precision motion controls and precision guidance. He has been on staff at Sandia since 1982, and helped design a missile guidance algorithm using GPS measurements for a moving mass-control system.

Harvey L. Lynch
Lynch is an integration physicist for the BaBar experiment at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Complex, where he has been on and off since receiving his PhD from Stanford in 1966. He was also an NSF research fellow at CERN for two years and worked on e experiments at DESY. He was a member of the US team working in association with the Soviet Academy of Sciences to take precision measurements of the nuclear weapons' emissions aboard Soviet Cruiser SLAVA.

David E. Moncton
Moncton is a Senior Scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, where he advises the laboratory director. Previously he was a senior research associate at Exxon, an experimentalist and group leader at Brookhaven, and a member of the technical staff at Bell Laboratories. He has also been the Executive Director for the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He is an APS Fellow as well as a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

L. David Montague
Montague is an independent consultant with more than 40 years of experience designing, developing and managing military weapons systems. His work has focused on submarine launched weaponry and ballistic missile defense systems. He is a retired President of the Missile Systems Division at Lockheed Martin and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

David E. Mosher
Mosher is a Nuclear Policy Analyst at the RAND Corporation, where he has focused on strategic warfare, nuclear weapons and missile defenses. Before joining RAND, he worked in the National Security Division at the Congressional Budget Office analyzing nuclear, missile defense, and arms control policy and budget issues.

William C. Priedhorsky
Priedhorsky has been on staff at Los Alamos National Laboratory since 1978 and was named a Laboratory Fellow in 1997. At Los Alamos, he has been a member of the Space Astronomy and Astrophysics group, the Lead Project Leader for Proliferation Detection Technology, and is currently the Chief Scientist in the Nonproliferation and International Security Division.

Maury Tigner
Tigner is the director of the Laboratory of Nuclear Studies at Cornell University, where he is also the H.A. Bethe Chair of Physics. He was a member of the HEPAP subpanel on the future of high-energy physics and chaired the steering committee of the Accelerator Test Facility at Brookhaven.

David R. Vaughn
Vaughn is a senior engineer in the Technology and Applied Science Department at RAND, where he recently led a project performing operational and technical analyses of airborne boost- and ascent- phase intercept and air-to-surface attack operations. His other experience includes work on surface-to-air interceptor missile performance limits, submarine-launched ballistic missile performance limits and radar tracking and prediction analyses.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette

August/September 2003 (Volume 12, Number 8)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
APS Study Questions Feasibility of Boost-Phase Missile Defense
News Background: Pentagon Seeks Functioning Booost-Phase System by 2010
BPI Study Group Members
Visa Issue Impacts 2004 March Meeting
Visa Rules Must Promote Science as well as Security
Visa Problems Continue to Plague Foreign Students
Rosenberg is New APS Congressional Fellow
APS Selects Three as 2003 Mass Media Fellows
APS Selects 25 as 2003-2004 Undergraduate Minority Scholars
Jakobsson is First Director of NIH Center for Bioinformatics
Gammasphere's Starring Role in THE HULK
The Back Page
This Month in Physics History
PRL Top Ten: #1
Physics and Technology Forefronts