APS News

APS Elections Now Open

Voting for the APS General Election is now open.

May 15, 2014

APS Election Candidates

APS General Election Candidates
Bios for the APS General Election 2014 candidates are available online.
Gray arrow APS General Election Information

APS general election voting began on May 15 and is open until the end of June. Members can cast their vote for vice president, the chair-elect of the nominating committee, international councilor, and general councilor.

The vice president is the first office in the presidential line, and assumes the role of president in the third year of service. Running for vice president are Laura Greene from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Margaret Murnane at the University of Colorado.

The chair of the nominating committee serves three years on the committee, first year as chair-elect, the second as chair, and lastly as past chair. The Council selects candidates for the presidential line, chairs of the nominating committee, and any other vacancies on the Council. The candidates are Paul Chaikin of New York University and Anthony Starace of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The international councilor is a member who resides outside the U.S and sits on the APS Council, the Society's main governing body. The candidates are Eliezer Rabinovici of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Yifang Wang from the Institute of High Energy Physics in Beijing.

The general councilor is elected by the whole membership and sits on the APS Council. Running for general councilor are Gail McLaughlin of North Carolina State University and Sherry Yennello of Texas A&M University.

Members will receive an email with instructions on voting. The candidates' full statements are available at the APS election website.