APS News

Preview: 39th Annual Gallery of Fluid Motion

November 19, 2021

This week, researchers studying the physics of fluids will meet in Phoenix for the 74th Annual Meeting of the Division of Fluid Dynamics (DFD). A highlight of the annual DFD meeting since 1987, the Gallery of Fluid Motion illustrates the science—and very often also the beauty—of fluid motion.

A panel will select outstanding entries based on artistic value, scientific content, and originality. The winning entries will be published next year as a special supplement to Physical Review Fluids (see the just-published collection from last year’s Gallery). In addition, the top three winners in each category will be presented the Milton Van Dyke Award, consisting of a small monetary prize, a copy of the Album of Fluid Motion, and an award certificate.

Posters and videos will be on display in the Exhibit Hall during the Afternoon Refreshment Break on Monday, November 22, when the award-winning entries will be announced. Browse some of this year’s entries below:


Numerical Schlieren of the X-59 QueSST

Numerical Schlieren

Experimental Streak and Quantitative Schlieren Imaging

Experimenal Streak

A Fluid Mechanic Guide to the Orchestra

Guide to Orchestra

Mixing in Time-Periodic Chaotic Flows with Bacteria




Tussle of the Vortices

Effects of wing-induced flow on the odor plume structures in an upwind surging flight of monarch butterfly

Simultaneous imaging of zooplankton morphology and wakes through 3D scanning particle image velocimetry

Self-propulsion of a Freely-Suspended, Rotationally-Symmetric Swimmer Enabled by Viscoelastic Normal Stresses

The Yarning Droplet

News Update Archive

View Archive

APS News

Read Current Issue

Recent News Update
Harvard Chemist and APS Fellow Shares 2022 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience
Dr. George Whitesides, a Harvard chemist and APS Fellow, is one of four recipients of the 2022 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience.
Productive Scientific Discourse Demands Respect
APS strives to provide a welcoming and inclusive environment for all those engaged in physics.
APS Continues Progress to Make US More Welcoming for Science
The China Initiative, which sowed fear among some APS members and curtailed legitimate collaborations, has ended in its current form.
March Meeting Heads to Chicago
The 2022 APS March Meeting will be held live in Chicago with many sessions available online as well.
Celebrating Leaders in Physics Teacher Preparation
Nine colleges and universities received top honors for preparing highly qualified high school physics teachers.
2022 APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research Awarded to Elliott Lieb
Princeton University physicist to receive top APS honor