APS News

Past APS President Laura Greene Appointed to President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

September 22, 2021 | David Barnstone

The Biden-Harris Administration today announced the appointment of Laura Greene, Chief Scientist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and the Marie Krafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University, to the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). Greene is the second APS President to serve as a scientific advisor to the President of the United States since the inception of PCAST.

“I am humbled and honored to be selected to advise the president on science and technology policy,” said Greene. “I feel like this is my opportunity to serve my country in a way where I can make a real contribution and help ensure that America remains a global leader in both foundational and applied research.”

Established in 2001 as part of the White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy, the nation’s leading scientists and engineers are appointed to PCAST to advise the US President on critical issues affecting the economy, national security, health, the environment, and other areas. President Biden re-chartered PCAST by Executive Order on January 27, 2021.

APS President Jim Gates was a member of PCAST under the Obama Administration.

Laura Greene

News Update Archive

View Archive

APS News

Read Current Issue

Recent News Update
Harvard Chemist and APS Fellow Shares 2022 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience
Dr. George Whitesides, a Harvard chemist and APS Fellow, is one of four recipients of the 2022 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience.
Productive Scientific Discourse Demands Respect
APS strives to provide a welcoming and inclusive environment for all those engaged in physics.
APS Continues Progress to Make US More Welcoming for Science
The China Initiative, which sowed fear among some APS members and curtailed legitimate collaborations, has ended in its current form.
March Meeting Heads to Chicago
The 2022 APS March Meeting will be held live in Chicago with many sessions available online as well.
Celebrating Leaders in Physics Teacher Preparation
Nine colleges and universities received top honors for preparing highly qualified high school physics teachers.
2022 APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research Awarded to Elliott Lieb
Princeton University physicist to receive top APS honor