APS News

2014 APS General Election Results

The APS general election has ended and the results are in: Laura Greene of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has been elected Vice President. She will serve one year as Vice President then one year as President-Elect before serving as President of the Society in 2017.

July 7, 2014

Greene, a condensed matter physicist, has served on a number of APS boards and committees, including the Executive Board, Council, the Committee on Committees, the Nominating Committee, the Fellowship Committee, several prize committees, and helped found the Committee on Informing the Public and the Forum on Outreach and Engaging the Public. She is currently chair of the Division of Materials Physics.

"Sustained and increased funding for fundamental and applied research can be engendered by public engagement: As politicians vote supporting their constituents, APS must take a leadership role in promoting that engagement. Our technological challenges for the 21st century exist on a global scale, and enhancing our partnerships with industry and international exchanges will facilitate our tapping into vast, undiscovered, human resources,” she said in her candidate statement.

Current President-Elect, Samuel Aronson of Brookhaven National Laboratory, will move up and assume the presidency in January 2015, when current President Malcolm Beasley of Stanford University steps down. At the same time, Homer Neal from the University of Michigan will advance from Vice President to President-Elect.

Paul Chaikin of New York University was selected to be the Chair-Elect of the nominating committee. Eliezer Rabinovici from Hebrew University in Jerusalem was elected to be an International Councilor and Gail McLaughlin of North Carolina State was chosen as a General Councilor.

Laura Greene
Laura Greene
Vice President

Paul Chaikin
Paul Chaikin
Chair-Elect, Nominating Committee

Eliezer Rabinovici
Eliezer Rabinovici
International Councilor

Gail Mclaughlin
Gail McLaughlin
General Councilor