Division of Condensed Matter Physics

Originally called the Division of Solid State Physics (DSSP), the unit was formed in 1947, the third society division. (The Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics was established in 1943, and the Division of High Polymer Physics was formed in 1944.) In 1978 the DSSP was renamed the Division of Condensed Matter Physics to recognize that disciplines covered in the division included liquids (quantum fluids) as well as solids. Today the DCMP is the largest of all APS divisions.

Condensed Matter Physics concentrates on such topics as superconductivity, semi-conductors, magnetism, complex fluids, and thin films. A broad range of physical problems, both applied and basic, are investigated.

Gray Arrow More on the History of Condensed Matter Physics

News & Announcements

The Latest DCMP Newsletter is Available
The DCMP Winter 2019 Newsletter has been posted.
Gray Arrow Read Newsletter

March Meeting 2020 Invited Symposium Nominations
Nominations for DCMP sponsored symposia will open on July 1, 2019. The deadline for nominations is August 23, 2019.
Gray Arrow Submitting an Invited Symposium Nomination

Please consider supporting the Millie Dresselhaus Fund for Science and Society—a joint effort by DCMP and DMP.
Gray Arrow go.aps.org/dresselhaus

Gray Arrow New APS-ACS Test Program for Liquid Helium Purchasing

Journal Club for Condensed Matter Physics

Gray Arrow View Website

Gray Arrow News Sources

Congratulations to Our Newest APS Fellows

Gray Arrow APS Fellows from DCMP

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

2020 Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics
Klaas Bergmann, Technische Universitat Kaiserslautern

2020 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Physics
Robert W. Boyd, University of Ottawa, University of Rochester
Vladimir M. Shalaev, Purdue University

2020 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize
Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2020 Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics
Hsiang-Hsi Kung, University of British Columbia
Veronika Sunko, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids
Xiao Mi, Google

DCMP 2019 Grad Travel Awardees

22019 DCMP Grad Student Travel Award Recipients, 2019 APS March Meeting, Boston, MA

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.