Prizes & Awards

Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding work in atomic physics or surface physics. Responsibility for this Prize is shared with DAMOP

Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids

To recognize outstanding optical research that leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences.

Graduate Student Travel Awards

Established to assist the professional development and careers of grad student researchers.

IUPAP C10 2019 Young Scientist Prize in the Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter

Lars Onsager Prize

To recognize outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics including the quantum fluids. Sponsored by DCMP in conjunction with the Topical Group on Statistical Physics.

Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize

To recognize and encourage outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics.

Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter or Materials Physics

To recognize doctoral thesis research of exceptional quality and importance in experimental condensed matter or experimental materials physics.

Upcoming Prizes & Awards

The Dresselhaus Prize
To honor and celebrate the achievements of an individual who has excelled as a scientist and who has made significant contributions to nanoscience and nanomaterials—areas pioneered by Millie.
Gray Arrow More information on the endowment campaign

Other APS Prizes & Awards Open to Condensed Matter Physicists

LeRoy Apker Award

Edward A. Bouchet Award

Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award

Joseph F. Keithley Award For Advances in Measurement Science

Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize

James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

David Adler Lectureship Award in the Field of Materials Physics

George E. Valley, Jr. Prize