Forum on International Physics

The Forum on International Physics, established in 1982, is a voluntary association of APS members who are interested in advancing the knowledge of physics and its diffusion by fostering cooperation and communication among physicists of all countries. The FIP organizes focused sessions at APS meetings, receives nominations for APS fellowships and the Wheatley Award, and communicates with its members via this page and a periodic Newsletter. The FIP also cooperates with several other APS bodies in charge of international scientific affairs. But the unique strength of the FIP lies in the openness of its agenda, which reflects the grass-roots origin of this Forum. Programs such as international book exchanges, equipment exchanges, travel grants, etc. have been established in the past as a result of individual initiatives of FIP members. So if you feel that something is missing in the area of international scientific cooperation, join the FIP and make it happen! And if you are already a member of the FIP, share the excitement with your colleagues and help us recruit even more volunteers!

Gray arrow Learn more about FIPFollow FIP on Facebook

News & Announcements

The Special Edition 2020 March Meeting Newsletter is Now Available
Gray arrow Read Special Edition format_pdf

Gray arrow Beller & Marshak Lectureships

Gray arrow News & Announcements Archive

Congratulations to New Prize & Award Recipients

Distinguished Student (DS) Program 2018 Awardees

Shanyang Niu, China, U of Southern California
Jiahao Xu, China, U of Georgia
Xin Lin, China, Georgia Tech
Hira Farooq, Pakistan, Texas Tech U
Neeranjan Nepal, Nepal, Central Michigan U
Alicia Lima, Cape Verde, Bowdoin College

Krishnakanta Bhattacharya, India, IIT Guwahati
Ana Gallego Ros, Spain, CIEMAT
Tejal Agarwal, India, IISER-Pune
Santanu Kumar Parida, India, Homi Bhabha National Center
Denis Torres Munoz, Colombia

View Distinguished Student (DS) Program Award Page

2019 John Wheatley Award
Federico Rosei, INRS Centre Énergie

2020 Andrei Sakharov Prize
Ayşe Erzan, Istanbul Technical University
Xiaoxing Xi, Temple University

International Research Travel Award Program (IRTAP) 2018 Awardees

Fereydoon Family, Emory University
David Kieda, University of Utah
Mohit Randeria, The Ohio State University
Anh Nguyen, Vietnam Academy of S&T (VAST)
Federico Rosei, INRS
Walter Tangarife, Loyola University Chicago
Steven Manson, Georgia State University
Francisca Guzman-Lastra, Universidad Mayor
Paula Giraldo Gallo, Universidad de Los Andes
Akshit Goyal, National Centre for Biological Sciences

View IRTAP Page

new FIP logo