Background on APS Task Force on Ethics Education

The APS Task Force on Ethics Education was formed in 2004, in response to several high-profile cases of ethics violations among physicists. Its charge was to advise APS on how it can best encourage physics departments to do a better job of educating their students, postdocs, and faculty about scientific ethics; to investigate what materials are available for ethics education; and to develop materials or adapt existing materials to aid physics departments in their efforts.
Gray Arrow  APS Ethics Education Task Force
Gray arrow  Task Force on Ethics Education Report

APS Task Force on Ethics Education Members

  • Allen M. Goldman, University of Minnesota (Chair)
  • Beverly Karplus Hartline, Delaware State University
  • Jean P. Krisch, University of Michigan
  • J. Marshall Thomsen, Eastern Michigan University
  • Brian Utter, James Madison University
  • Simon Woodruff, University of Washington