Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics

This prize recognizes outstanding work in atomic physics or surface physics. The prize consists of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient or recipients.

Establishment & Support

This Prize was established in 1965 by AT&T Bell Laboratories (now Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent Technologies) and with additional support from the Chope Family Trust.

Rules & Eligibility

This prize will normally be awarded in odd years (i.e. 2019) to a candidate who presents work for surface physics and in even years (i.e. 2020) for a candidate who presents work for outstanding work in atomic physics. This prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person, but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. Nominations are active for three cycles. The recipient for 2018 Prize will be selected for work done in the area of atomic physics.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Tuesday, June 1, 2021

The nomination package must include:

A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s). In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2021 Selection Committee Members: Seamus Davis (Chair), Randall Feenstra, Nadya Mason

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipient

Michael F. Crommie
Department of Physics and Kavli Energy NanoScience Institute, University of California at Berkeley; Materials Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Past Recipients

2020: Klaas Bergmann
2019: Randall Feenstra
2018: John E. Thomas
2017: Eli Rotenberg
          Stephen Kevan
2016: Randall G. Hulet
2015: Miquel B. Salmeron
          Tai-Chang Chiang
2014: Nora Berrah
2013: Geraldine L. Richmond
2012: Jean Dalibard
2011: Joachim Stohr
2010: Chris H. Greene
2009: Krishnan Raghavachari
          Yves Chabal
2008: Horst Schmidt-Bocking
2007: Franz Himpsel
2006: C. Lewis Cocke
2005: Ernst G. Bauer
2004: Paul Julienne
2003: Rudolf M. Tromp
2002: Gerald Gabrielse
2001: Donald M. Eigler
2000: William Happer
1999: Steven Gwon Sheng Louie
1998: Sheldon Datz
1997: Jerry D. Tersoff
1996: Thomas Francis Gallagher
1995: Max G. Lagally
1994: Carl Weiman
1993: Joseph Demuth
1992: Larry Spruch
1991: Neville V. Smith
1990: David Wineland
1989: Peter J. Feibelman
1988: John L. Hall
1987: Maurice B. Webb
1986: D. Kleppner
1985: J. Gregory Dash
1984: Gordon H. Dunn
          Manfred A. Biondi
1983: E. W. Plummer
1982: Llewellyn H. Thomas
1981: Robert Gomer
1980: Alexander Dalgarno
1979: D. R. Hamann
          J. A. Appelbaum
1978: Vernon Hughes
1977: Norton Lang
          Walter Kohn
1976: Ugo Fano
1975: Homer D. Hagstrum
          James J. Lander
1974: Norman Ramsey
1972: Erwin W. Mueller
1970: Hans Dehmelt
1967: Horace Richard Crane
1965: George J. Schulz