Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Eugene W. Beier
University of Pennsylvania


"For major contributions to studies of neutrino interactions, especially studies of solar neutrinos demonstrating unequivocally the existence of neutrino flavor oscillations"


Eugene W. Beier is the Fay R. and Eugene L. Langberg Professor of Physics at the University of Pennsylvania.   He received his B.S. from Stanford University in 1961 and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois in 1963 and 1966, respectively. He has been a member of the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania since 1967.

Professor Beier has studied neutrino interactions and properties for the past thirty years.  He has been involved in experimental work on neutrinos at Brookhaven National Laboratory, the Kamiokande II experiment, and the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory.  Current work seeks
to determine if neutrinos are their own antiparticles through a search for neutrinoless double beta decay.

Professor Beier is co-winner of the Bruno Rossi Prize of the American Astronomical Society, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and Past Chair of the Society's Division of Particles and Fields, and a John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellow.

Selection Committee:

George Trilling, Chair, E. Bloom, J. Kroll, B. Meadows, P. Sokolsky